Choose Cumbria
Uclan Samuel Lindow

University of Cumbria celebrates staff excellence

Published on: Monday 20th June 2016
Categorised under: Work , Awards, Education, University of Cumbria

The University of Cumbria will host its annual Excellence Awards on Tuesday, June 21 to celebrate those who make a positive contribution to the success of the university.

The awards will honour teams and individuals who deliver high quality learning and research, and innovation and enterprise activity.

Professor Peter Strike said: “The university’s Excellence Awards recognise the outstanding work of our staff and celebrate their successes and achievements.

“I would like to congratulate this year’s award winners and nominees for their exceptional efforts and thank all of our staff for their skills, commitment and hard work which contributes so much to the continuous development of our university as a centre of academic, professional and educational excellence.”

Nominations for the awards are made by staff at the university, a partner of Choose Cumbria. The ceremony will also see the institution honour eight of its long serving employees.

This year’s winners are:

Outstanding Service:

Facilities Management Services core team: Mark Atkinson, John Powell, Jan Carruthers, Kirsty Mills (Lancaster and Carlisle)

In recognition of the teams work in the emergency response to Storm Desmond which hit the UK in December 2015, causing significant disruption to all university north west campuses.

Library and Student Services, Academic Services and Retention Management Team: Nadine Sunderland, James Stephens, Sandie Donnelly (Lancaster)

In recognition for the valuable contribution this team makes to the university through their support for increasingly diverse students.

Innovation & Enterprise:

Vicki Goodwin and Dr Tom Grimwood (Lancaster and Carlisle)

In recognition of the work of Health and Social Care Evaluations (HASCE) which is making a considerable contribution to the university through securing commercial projects, income generation and external stakeholder engagement.

Richard Milburn (Carlisle)

In recognition of Richard’s work leading developments in marketing and recruitment of academic programmes within the deanery.

Teaching & Support of Learning

Paramedic Team: Stewart Ralph, Tom Davidson, Sarah Green, Sharon Seddon (Lancaster)

In recognition for the work of this team which has enabled the university to provide programmes to a diverse range of UK military services including the Army, RAF and Navy. The team has developed bespoke programmes which have been formally recognised by the Health Care Professions Council. These programmes are enabling military staff, even those deployed overseas, to study with the university.

Kathryn Hoyle (Lancaster)

In recognition of Kathryn’s dedication and commitment to her students, subject area, colleagues and the wider academic community. Kathryn has led a number of key projects across the university including the corporate health team which was set up to enable students to work alongside the university’s HR department on the wellbeing agenda.

Research Excellence

Kaz Stuart (Lancaster)

In recognition of Kaz’s work in pioneering 'fit for purpose' evaluation tools for the youth work sector which is having both a national and international reach. As an active member of the ‘Youth Work Evidence Group’ and ‘Centre for Youth Impact’, Kaz is raising the profile of youth work, demonstrating real excellence in research.

Early Career Researcher

Tracy Hayes (Carlisle)

In recognition of Tracy’s commitment to research and her contribution to the university’s research community. Tracy’s track record in publishing at this stage in her career and the role she is playing in supporting postgraduate researcher development within the university is commendable and demonstrates excellence in early career research.

Subscribe to our newsletter: get a glimpse of what it's really like to live and work in Cumbria.