Choose Cumbria

Golden Apple Awards 2016 shortlist revealed

Published on: Friday 2nd September 2016
Categorised under: Learn , Awards, Cumbria, Education, University of Cumbria

The finalists for the 2016 Golden Apple Awards have been revealed.

Several partners of Choose Cumbria have made the shortlist and will be receiving invitations to the CN Group Education and Learning Awards next month.

Ulverston Victoria High School is shortlisted for three awards - Support Staff of the Year, the Inclusion Award and Secondary School of the Year.

GSK Ulverston has two Apprentice of the Year finalists in Jemima Armstrong and Kai Athersmith.

Barrow Sixth Form College's Robyn Holden is on the shortlist for two awards, Learner of the Year and Against All Odds.

Barrow's Professor Peter Strike, who retired as vice-chancellor of the University of Cumbria this summer, has been nominated for the Lifetime Achievement award.

There are 19 categories in this year’s Golden Apples to reflect and recognise excellence and achievement in a range of formal and informal learning settings.

The awards are sponsored by the University of Cumbria and personal development and career guidance organisation Inspira.

The winners will be revealed at a glittering gala dinner evening at Carlisle Racecourse on October 7.

CN Group Education and Learning Awards 2016 Shortlist in full:

Learner of the Year - Vincent Rourke, Lakes College, Lillyhall, Sarah Jackson, West Lakes Academy, Egremont, Robyn Holden, Barrow Sixth Form College

Support Staff of the Year - Sarah James, Newman Catholic School, Carlisle, James Jackson, West Lakes Academy, Egremont, Val Ritchie, St Bernard's Catholic High School, Barrow, Admin Staff, Ulverston Victoria High School

Community Involvement - Footprints of our Fathers, North Allerdale Development Trust, Wigton, Norman Street School, Carlisle, Rock Challenge Team, Newman Catholic School, Carlisle, Judith Stitt, Furness Riding for the Disabled Association

Technology in Learning - University of Cumbria, Energy Coast UTC, Lillyhall, Fab Lab, Cockermouth

Teaching Assistant of the Year - Tess Richardson, West Lakes Academy, Egremont, Deborah Dent, Warwick Bridge Primary School, Debra Capstick, Penruddock Primary School

Award for Enterprise - Stephanie Walker, The Nelson Thomlinson School, Wigton, Tracey Hill, William Howard School, Brampton, Bright Sparks, Centre for Leadership Performance, Cockermouth

Sporting Achievement - Lindal and Marton Primary School, Cumbria SPAAF & Story Homes, Carlisle, Cumbria School Games

Award for Youth - Carlisle Youth Zone, South Workington Youth Partnership. The Rock, Currock, Carlisle

Against All Odds - Gayle McCrickerd, Lakes College, Lillyhall, Ayesha Weston, Crosby on Eden CE School, Robyn Holden, Barrow Sixth Form College

Apprentice of the Year - Jonathan Rowell, Lakes College, Lillyhall, Sam Meagan, Lakes College, Lillyhall, Jemima Armstrong, GSK, Ulverston, Kai Athersmoth, GSK, Ulverston

Inclusion Award - Lisa Postlethwaite, Newman Catholic School, Carlisle, The Engagement Centre, Ulverston Victoria High School, Wreay CE School, Wreay near Carlisle

Outstanding New Teacher - Sam Proctor, Lindal and Marton Primary School, Danielle Cross, Solway Community College, Silloth, Natasha Spencer, Lakes College, Lillyhall

Teacher/Lecturer of the Year - Katie Olley, St Patrick's School, Cleator Moor, Fiona Dixon, Lakes College, Lillyhall, Emma McCormick, Ullswater Community College, Penrith

Headteacher/Principal of the Year - Nicola Corfield, Wiggonby CE School, near Wigton, Susan Gill, Sandside Lodge School, Ulverston, Derek Kay and Sheila Johnston, Trinity School, Carlisle, Valerie Bairstow, Kirkbride Primary School

Early Years - Sarah Cooper, Crosby Nursery, Crosby-on-Eden, Emmy Sealey, Ravenscar, Carlisle, Alison Allen, Abacus Nursery, Dalston

Primary School of the Year - Valley Primary School, Whitehaven, Kirkbride Primary School, Brampton Primary School, North Lakes School, Penrith

Secondary School of the Year - St Benedict's RC High School, Whitehaven, Newman Catholic School, Carlisle, Richard Rose Morton Academy, Carlisle, Ulverston Victoria High School

Futures and Employability Award - Inspira Ruth Buxton, Western Lakes Teaching School Alliance (based Keswick School), Samantha Addison, HIT Training, Penrith, Careers and Employability Service, University of Cumbria

Lifetime Achievement - Professor Peter Strike, University of Cumbria.

Subscribe to our newsletter: get a glimpse of what it's really like to live and work in Cumbria.