Choose Cumbria
Rail And Road

Where Is Cumbria?

Not sure where Cumbria is?

Cumbria is the third largest county in England by area, bordering with Scottish Border and Dumfries and Galloway to the north, the Irish Sea to the west, County Durham and Northumberland to the East and Lancashire and North Yorkshire to the south and southeast.

Cumbria consists of six main districts: Allerdale, Barrow-in-Furness, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden and South Lakeland. It is predominantly rural and is home to the UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Lake District.

Notable historic sites in Cumbria include Carlisle Castle, Furness Abbey, Hardknott Roman Fort, Brough Castle and Hadrian's Wall World Heritage Site.

Newsletter sign up

Subscribe to our newsletter: get a glimpse of what it's really like to live and work in Cumbria.

Subscribe to our Newsletter